Distinguished Knoxville Attorneys
Complimentary Case Evaluations
Back to Top
Misdemeanors Trial Tested & Relentless Advocacy

Knoxville Misdemeanor Lawyers

Tennessee’s Misdemeanor Laws

Facing a misdemeanor charge alone can be daunting. You need an ally that will be by your side every step of the way. Our Knoxville criminal defense lawyers have extensive experience with misdemeanor cases and can fight for your rights. When you schedule a free consultation with us, we can explain what the charges against you mean and how our team would go about fighting them.

Facing a misdemeanor charge? Our experienced team is here to help. Call (865) 544-2010 or contact us online to request a free consultation in-person or by phone at Eldridge and Cravens, PC today.

What Is a Misdemeanor?

Misdemeanors are less serious than felonies, but are crimes that are punishable by up to one year in prison as well as fines, restitution, and/or community service. It is also important to remember that a misdemeanor conviction will remain on your criminal record and appear on background checks, which affects employment and housing opportunities.

For these reasons, it is important that you take measures to fight a misdemeanor charge. At Eldridge and Cravens, PC, our Knoxville misdemeanor attorneys can review your case and advise you on what can be done to eliminate or minimize the consequences.

Types of Misdemeanor Charges

Typical misdemeanors include:

What Are Misdemeanor Penalties in Tennessee?

Tennessee classifies misdemeanors into Class A, Class B, and Class C. You have the same rights with a misdemeanor charge as you would with a felony charge: the right to remain silent, the right to an attorney, etc. For misdemeanor offenses, a jail sentence can be imposed.

The penalties for misdemeanors vary depending on their classification:

Tennessee Class C Misdemeanors

The least serious misdemeanor charge, these usually involve traffic offenses and other minor offenses. Can carry a penalty of up to 30 days in jail and up to $50 in fines.

Examples of Class C misdemeanors include:

  • Criminal trespass
  • Disorderly conduct
  • Public intoxication
  • And most traffic offenses

Class B Misdemeanors in Tennessee

In Tennessee, these charges include offenses such as reckless driving and prostitution. Penalties can include up to 6 months in jail and up to $500 in fines.

Tennessee Class A Misdemeanors

The most severe misdemeanor charge, offenses include:

  • DUI
  • Simple possession
  • Theft under $1,000
  • Assault
  • And underage consumption, among others

Penalties can include up to eleven months and twenty-nine days in jail and maximum fines of $2,500.

Charged with a misdemeanor? Contact Eldridge and Cravens, PC today at (865) 544-2010 to get started on your case!

The Opinions That Matter 

  • They treated our entire family with the utmost care

    - Mitzi
  • Excellent Criminal Defense Lawyer David Eldridge

    - Satisfied Client
  • Look no further, this is who you need to represent you!

    - Bernadette West

Trial-Tested & Relentless Advocacy

Put a Trusted Firm On Your Side
  • Trial Test With Over 55 Years of Combined Experience
  • A Team-Oriented Approach
  • Client-Focused & Results-Driven
  • Thousands of Clients Helped

We're Ready to Help

Schedule Your Free Consultation
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.